Adios, Nursing School.

Farewell. Goodbye.

I have the strangest of realizations coming over me right now. This time on Tuesday, I will no longer be a “nursing student,” but a “graduate NURSE.” Wow.

This feeling is not one of relief, which you might expect. Considering the incredible amount of time, energy, and effort that has been put into these past two years, relief would be normal. But I have serious mixed feelings about the whole thing. Not that I’m sad to leave nursing school, trust me. But I look back over these two years at the massive and inconceivable things I’ve learned and I marvel at the direction God has had in my life.

In my senior year of high school, nursing was NEVER a thought. Medicine of a sort, yes, but not nursing. Through college searches and miles of travel, journalism was the decided direction. MY decided direction, but apparently God has other plans. So, after many twists and turns, decisions were changed and Lancaster General became the school of choice. PRAISE GOD! That decision was so pivotal in my life.

The week before nursing school began, at a parent’s event, I met the man who would become my best friend and love of my life. The first semester was such intense culture shock, and I can’t imagine going through it with better people. Friendships were formed. They were the rocks who understood exactly what this crazy thing called nursing school meant. It was this semester that I learned how to live on my own, give an injection, and insert a catheter (Too much information– maybe…).

Fast forward to this semester, and you will see a completely different person. Or maybe the same person, just armed with enough knowledge to kill you or save your life ;). Just 2 years since the time I thought nursing school would be “fun.” But two more years into becoming the person I want to be.

God has brought the most amazing people in the world into my life, through school and apart from school. Friends, who have taught me so much about myself, who have laughed with me and studied with me (maybe both at the same time), who have had 3 hour coffee dates, and who have offered constant prayers. I thank God for this time, for the times when I have been so overwhelmed I couldn’t think of anyone to turn to but Him (desperation is key, no?), for the incredible experiences I have witnessed, for the remarkable things I have learned.

With all of this coming to an end, feelings of reminiscence, joy, accomplishment, praise, and gratitude have filled me. Thank you, Lord, for Your provision, for Your direction, for Your presence. I hope that I used this time in a worthwhile way. I hope that I have spoken Christ into the people I’ve encountered.

I just pray I’ve done this well.

3 responses

  1. Oh Lynnea. This almost makes me feel sad, except for the fact that from here on out the times we spend together won’t be over textbooks and lecture notes. I love you, dear. You are one of the BEST things that happened to me in the last 2 years. It feels like forever since that conversation in the library in 1st semester where I realized I had met a soul-mate. Thanks for being there for me! I can’t wait…..for all that God has out there for us!

  2. What a journey you’ve been on! I am blessed to be able to walk on this road with you – to see up close all that God is doing in your life and how He has used this experience to prepare you for not just for nursing but for the next steps of your life. I love you more than words could ever express my dear daughter!

  3. You are such an amazing woman and I am so in love with you! You inspire me and encourage me every single day! Now we can celebrate this incredible accomplishment of yours!! This is just one stage of life that is over, and I can’t wait to walk with you through ALL the rest of them! !! I love you with all my heart!

    P.S. that guy you met the week before nursing school sounds pretty cool, I’d love to meet him!

Leave a Reply

