His Faithfulness is Overwhemling

The past few weeks have been more joyful, overwhelming, and tiring than I have ever had. On Sunday, 10-10-10, I became engaged to the love of my life! So exciting! The planning has begun and I keep becoming distracted from everything else in life in order to just bask in the fun of it all. But alas, school had to come back into view with a bang, and I had to hand in a huge graduation project just one week after this joyful event. Add in the fun of life, such as trips to Philly and surprise parties for my Dad and you know why I am completely exhausted.

The past to weeks, I have praised God for the beautiful things He has brought into my life, the many, many blessings. But amidst all of my distraction, I have not turned to His words or His story in adoration of Him. I am ashamed of this. How can I be so grateful to my Creator and Director, yet I forget to actually hear what He says. How can I substitute words for action, and still feel connected to this Divine Maker.

This morning, I have returned to the point. I have spent time praying and meditating over His word. I have read stories of His beautiful, overwhelming faithfulness.

Our church is studying the book of Acts. I decided to read through Luke, so that I can have a direct basis of understanding for what the Holy Spirit does through the Church in Acts. This morning, in Luke, I read about Simeon, a faithful and devout man.

And there was a man in Jerusalem whose name was Simeon; and this man was righteous and devout, looking for the consolation of Israel; and the Holy Spirit was upon him. And it had been revealed to him by the Holy Spirit that he would not see death before he had seen the Lord’s Christ. And he came in the Spirit into the temple; and when the parents brought in the child Jesus, to carry out for Him the custom of the Law, then he took Him into his arms, and blessed God, and said, “Now Lord, You are releasing Your bond-servant to depart in peace, according to Your word; for my eyes have seen Your salvation, which You have prepared in the presence of all peoples, a Light of revelation to the Gentiles, and the glory of Your people Israel.”– Luke 2:25-32

Simeon had eagerly and devoutly anticipated the coming of the Messiah. So eagerly, that after he had held Him, Simeon was ready to die and dwell with his Creator.Yet I, who has the Holy Spirit dwelling in me, choose to allow distractions so easily get in the way of my relationship with this Messiah. How is this possible?

Praise God that His faithfulness to me is never-ending. That whenever I lose sight of the only beautiful Truth in this world, He waits for me, chases me, and brings me back. This is overwhelming. What can I do but worship this God who is true to His word from beginning to end, who sent a Messiah so we can enter into relationship with Him who is holy.

You did not choose Me but I chose you, and appointed you that you would go and bear fruit, and that your fruit would remain, so that whatever you ask of the Father in My name He may give to you. This I command you, that you love one another.– John 15:16-17

 

Leave a Reply

