How do we see God?

I don’t know the answer to this question. I know that its possible to see Him everywhere, but do we? Do we really see God? Do we really stop and gaze at His holiness? Do we ever really stop looking at ourselves for a moment and find awe in His awesome purity?

Its hard. There’s distractions. We distract ourselves. But I know that we can see God… I know that He is very, very visible if we just take time to look. His graces are so full and abounding, so how can we forget to look…

I see Him in people. I see Him in people who are so filled with Him that its unmistakable. I see Him everyday in my friendships and the people I hold most dear. So why don’t I recognize Him? Why do I say its just them?

I see Him in people that might not know that I’m seeing Him in them. Through them. Walking down the street, it might be a glance. A smile. I see Him. I worship Him. I turn from myself.

I see Him in the earth. The ground. His creation. We have been made to worship. It has been made to lead us to worship.

I see Him in spite of myself.

“We see God when we let go. When we let go of the visible, papery skin that surrounds our moments, then we see the sacred jewel gleaming just underneath everything…

When we cup the the thinning, fragile places, the places worn right through, the dying and flaking away and hardly-holding-together-places, this is when we see the amber of Holiness.

Stripping away the sheath of self, this is how we see God.  In a lace of brokenness, light dances with shadows...

Shakes my dead bones awake to light.

To His glowing heart within everything.”– Ann Voskamp

Leave a Reply

